Reviews

Review: My Lady Jane

images

4/5

*Spoilers below*

Taken from Goodreads:

The comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey. In My Lady Jane, coauthors Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows have created a one-of-a-kind fantasy in the tradition of The Princess Bride, featuring a reluctant king, an even more reluctant queen, a noble steed, and only a passing resemblance to actual history—because sometimes history needs a little help.

At sixteen, Lady Jane Grey is about to be married off to a stranger and caught up in a conspiracy to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But those trifling problems aren’t for Jane to worry about. Jane is about to become the Queen of England.

I’m a fan of historical fiction, and English monarchy court intrigue novels always manage to catch my attention. I stepped into this book thinking that’s what I would get. I can tell you now if that’s the kind of book you’re wanting to read this isn’t the book you want.

That sounds a little harsh. I enjoyed this book! It was quirky (if a little lot cheesy) with a healthy dose of female characters with their own characterization. However, I did not enjoy this book at first, and that was becuase I was expecting something that wasn’t boiled down Monty Python with a Princess Bride glaze. (I mean that in the best way possible I promise.) After reading a few reviews on Goodreads I received the best advice on how to proceed with this book: don’t take it seriously. This would also be the advice for anyone else who begins this book, as it make the eye-rolling a little less tedious and the story a little more laughable.

Absurdity aside this novel was very cute. There were several moments I thought it was a little over the top, but all in all it made me laugh a lot. The characters were mostly likable, with an unapologetic female antagonist to boot. (Love those!) It doesn’t break down any great barriers, but for someone in the thralls of homecoming and a new semester it was defiantly a stress reliever. This would be a book to read when you just need to laugh, and don’t want to put in any effort at all. So treat yourself.

Leave a Reply

