Wrap-up

January 2017 Wrap-up

I’ve never actually done a wrap-up before, Goodreads always kept track for me. However, it’s a post that always seemed like it would be fun to write. So here I am, reflecting on the books January brought me, especially sense I do not review some of the books I read (mostly the ones that just sit on my shelf forever).

January seemed productive to me, as I’ve never had time to read for pleasure while at school before. This month was something different, allowing me to read through several titles (mostly on my Kindle app) in between classes. It’s been so refreshing, so I’m hoping that I’ll be able to continue. My reading goal for the year is 70 books, which is what it has been for the past two years (which I met both times). So far I am 13 books in and loving every second of it.

Many of the books I have read so far are children’s books I had sitting on my shelf for over a year. Before the school semester started I was in a sort of reading slump, so I tried to get through a couple of them to drag myself out of it. It worked! So here’s my January wrap up:

  1. Tales from Halloweentown: The Witch’s Amulet – Lucy Ruggles – 2/5
  2. Are You There God? It’s Me, Margret – Judy Blume – 4/5
  3. The Tiger Rising – Kate DiCamillo – 3/5
  4. Winnie-the-Pooh – A.A Milne – 3/5
  5. Genesis Girl – Jennifer Bardsley – 4/5
  6. the life-changing magic of not giving a fuck – Sarah Knight – 4/5
  7. My Lady Jane – Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows – 4/5
  8. A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas – 1/5
  9. Tao Te Ching – Lao Tzu – 4/5
  10. Azumanga Daioh: The Omnibus – Kiyohiko Azuma – 4/5
  11. The Korean Popular Culture Reader – Kyung Hyun Kim – 4/5
  12. Bull – David Elliott – 4/5
  13. Sun Dragon’s Song vol. 2 – Joyce Chng – 4/5

I read plenty of well written and enjoyable books. Our of the whole lot I’d put Genesis Girl, My Lady Jane, and Bull as my January favorites. However, there was no book out of the lot that I felt deserved a 5 star rating. Maybe that will change with February, or maybe I won’t find one until the end of the year. At any rate, I will attempt to keep with a high number of books read during February. I will also attempt to review more of the books I read (and perhaps go back and review ones I haven’t already).

Leave a Reply

