Give Me Five Friday

Give Me Five Friday: Five Movies To See This Summer/Fall

Movies are not the most exciting thing to me. It’s rare that I want to go through the effort and spend the money to go see a film I could wait a year to see on Netflix or bootleg. (Come at me, arrest me) But there are actually enough movies coming out this summer, or late fall for me to make one of these posts. I will be listing the movies I’m most excited for last, so in descending order of the movies I’m going to try my hardest to see here we are:

5. The Fate of the Furious

MV5BMjMxODI2NDM5Nl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNjgzOTk1MTI@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,631,1000_AL_

Technically already in theaters (release date April 14), this promises all the action packed, adrenaline frying, hang nail biting moments the others gave me. While I don’t put much stock into the stories here, I will continue to keep a seat warm for any Fast and Furious movie if only to get my anxiety ridden fill and download every song from the soundtrack.

4. Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales

images

This will be one that serves as a friend date. Pirate moves have long been a fixture of my childhood, so naturally I’m going to watch the latest installment with some of my favorite buccaneers. While I wasn’t too impressed with the last film, I’m a sucker for aesthetics, so I’m keen to know how Dead Men Tell No Tales will stack up compared to the others. (May 26 here I come)

3.Coco

images-2

Anyone who knows me knows I get excited for representation. The fact that animation has taken a turn to Hispanic influences (hello The Book of Life and Elena of Avalor) is exciting to me! This movie just looks so cute, plus theres a dog, so come November I’ll be checking this one out!

2.Captain Underpants: The First Epic Movie

images-5

This is the only real “summer” movie on this list, but let’s be real, it’s one of the most important ones on this list. Captain Underpants is one of the most challenged books in elementary schools, for reasons such as teaching children disobedience and crude humor. Ironically enough, my own mother was one of the parents in my home district who tried to have them removed from the shelves. So I’ll be sticking it to the man and watching this film come June 2!

 

1.Gook

Gook-by-Justin-Chon

This one is a hard-hitter. Directed and written by Korean-American Justin Chon this movie focuses on the friendship of a, 11-year-old black girlΒ and two Korean-American brothers right before the 1992 Los Angeles riots. For those not familiar with the riots, they cumulated after an incident involving a high-speed car chase on March 3, 1991 that ended with driver Rodney King and his two passengers being arrested. King was believed to be under the influence of PCP and was beaten while lying on the ground prior to being cuffed and arrested. (The Wikipedia page is here, which has links to several of the news articles from the case) After the verdicts the riots slowly began to emerge, first with targeted assaults then with mass looting and arson. Chon’s film focuses Β on the racial tensions that emerged before and during the riots, having the interracial friendship at the focus. It won acclaim at the 2017 Sundance Film Festival (Audience Award “Best of Next!”) and is the film I’m most excited to see! (Honestly I wrote this article just to talk about this movie) Chon is one of my favorite actors, so seeing him put together such a serious film will be brilliant. Here’s to Samuel Golden Films picking it up and slating it for release in August!

Leave a Reply

