Reviews

Book Review: Ten Thousand Skies Above You

17234659

4/5

*Taken from Goodreads*

Ever since she used the Firebird, her parents’ invention, to cross into alternate dimensions, Marguerite has caught the attention of enemies who will do anything to force her into helping them dominate the multiverse—even hurting the people she loves. She resists until her boyfriend, Paul, is attacked and his consciousness scattered across multiple dimensions.

Marguerite has no choice but to search for each splinter of Paul’s soul. The hunt sends her racing through a war-torn San Francisco, the criminal underworld of New York City, and a glittering Paris where another Marguerite hides a shocking secret. Each world brings Marguerite one step closer to rescuing Paul. But with each trial she faces, she begins to question the destiny she thought they shared.

It’s taken me about a year to finally get around to reading this. I read the first one ages ago, and was pleasantly surprised with how much I liked it. So, it seemed only fair to continue with the series and follow these characters on more adventures and see if the surprises continue.

Thankfully they did.

The characters I grew to enjoy in the previous installment came back in full force, with Marguerite once again serving as the leading lady with Theo and Paul in tow. I’ll start this review with what I wasn’t a fan of, and then lead into what made me enjoy this book and devour more than two thirds of it in one night. First of all, Marguerite is a mess. I may not have room to talk though, but she was all over the place in this novel. The love triangle set up in the first book was prevalent in this story, with Marguerite and Theo appearing in different universes where they’re dating, challenging the narrative that she and Paul are “meant to be” and that “destiny” brings them together. The entire side plot where she and Paul have their relationship crises and struggle with the concept of destiny or whatever is exhausting. There’s a lot of overreacting and melodrama that I could do without. Her whole hissy fit and subsequent flee to the Russiaverse from book one was a little over the top, as I really didn’t understand the reasoning. Yes, another version of Paul turned out to be rather unsavory, but it made sense to me. Of course, each universe’s people are going to be completely different. Some are going to be villains. We established this in the first novel, because each universe in unique with its own dynamics at work. I thought she was smart enough to know this, but emotions were obviously running high, so I guess logic and sense went out the window. Marguerite also was much more Paul and love focused in this novel, which makes sense all things considered, but it was a definite change from the high octane hate to slow love transition that I enjoyed in the previous story.  This book also started slow, but the last one did too so I expected it. The real action doesn’t happen until about a third of the way in (the second universes always seem to be the best) so if that is always something to be aware of.

This book did not disappoint me with the plot twists though. There was one I did not call for a while, which was refreshing. A few twists I wanted to see happened, mostly on the return trip to Russia (get ready for extreme feels if you’re as attached to the Russiaverse as I am) and I was given the high stress moments I wanted that kept me glued to the page until I’d blown through the whole thing. The cliffhanger ending, while frustrating, leaves me eager for the obvious pain that is going to come from the third and final installment. I’m glad that this book didn’t run me away from the series, and that this was an interesting addition to the overall story. So, my faith in Gray is restored, and I’m excited to see what she will bring me.

 

Leave a Reply

