Book Tags

Down the TBR Hole #2

Web

This weekly tag, created by Lia over at Lost in a Story, is to help tackle your TBR pile on Goodreads. Honestly it’s an ongoing struggle with me to keep this in control and be realistic about how many books I can actually read. So, here’s my first go at this tag and a quick look at the first five books in my TBR. Feel free to join in! (Be sure to keep up with where you left off for next week!)

It works like this:

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

The Books:

1.Siddhartha

Reason for adding: For some reason I just managed to find several Herman Hesse books at the thrift store at once and bought them. I’m still not really sure what this book is supposed to be besides an allegory and a step-by-step guide to Buddhism, but the fact that a German-Swiss man used an Indian character to tell it and explain an Eastern religion is a big no no for me. Hard pass.

2.The Color Purple

Reason for adding: This is one of the heavy hitter African-American lit books I haven’t been exposed to yet. It defiantly strikes me as a must read. Keep.

3.Golden Compass

Reason for adding: I actually read this ages ago, and then tried to read the sequel and stopped a few chapters in. I have the trilogy in one big mega book, so I think I’m going to try again with it. Keep.

4.East of Eden

Reason for adding: I was supposed to read this three years ago for my senior year of high school English. Surprise surprise, it never got done. If we’re being honest it probably won’t ever happen. Pass!

5.Watership Down

Reason for adding: It sounded interesting, and I saw a Tumblr post ages ago talking about the animated film and how bloody it was. Looking at the summary I’m still pretty interested in it, so I’d say keep.

 

Doing better, two out of five gone from the list, making a whopping number of three gone from the reading list. Amazing. I’m so good at this.

 

2 thoughts on “Down the TBR Hole #2”

Leave a Reply

