Reading Lists

Down the TBR Hole #4

Web

This weekly tag, created by Lia over at Lost in a Story, is to help tackle your TBR pile on Goodreads. Honestly it’s an ongoing struggle with me to keep this in control and be realistic about how many books I can actually read. So, here’s my first go at this tag and a quick look at the first five books in my TBR. Feel free to join in! (Be sure to keep up with where you left off for next week!)

It works like this:

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

 

The Books:

Lolita: Reason for adding: This is one of those borderline classic novels that is side-eyed and praised equally by academic circles. It’s one of those off the beaten path books that I feel like needs to be gotten to eventually. So, keep!

A Clockwork Orange: Reason for adding: Probably the same reason for adding Lolita, but honestly, I’ve heard this book is on the border of nonsense that would probably just get on my nerves. So, pass.

The Kite Runner: Reason for adding: We read this in my class Senior year of high school, and I promptly stopped reading it after having some spoilers told me by a classmate. Everyone who has read it that I’ve met have all been huge fans, so for the sake of my friendships it’s a keep.

Lord of the Flies: Reason for adding: English major. I felt the need to add every pseudo-classic novel to my reading list. But I honestly don’t care. Pass.

Brave New World: Reason for adding: See above. Also, pass!

Well look at me, finally culling some books from the ever expanding list. It’s good honestly because it not only clears up space on my Goodreads shelves but also my actual bookshelves as well! Want to tell me why I should reconsider these books? Comment below!

1 thought on “Down the TBR Hole #4”

Leave a Reply

