Reviews

Review: The Sun is Also a Star

28763485

5/5

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

When I began this book, I wasn’t expecting it to be better then Everything, Everything. Since I hadn’t heard as much about this book I didn’t walk in with many expectations. If I had any they would have been met and then shattered by this novel. I have a lot of feelings about this book that I’m not sure how to put into words, which is one of the reasons it’s taken me so long to write the review.

This book was the first one in about almost two years to make me cry. For me, that’s a large statement. There are so many books and stories that I consume in a month, let alone a year that it takes something impressive (to me at least) to make a mark like that. These characters easily wormed their way into my heart, making me cheer and cry for them. As far as the other reviews claiming instalove between Natasha and Daniel, I’m going to call bullshit. I feel like the timeframe put on their relationship adds a high-octane type of reaction to what’s happening around them, but they also go realistically into their affections. There is just the right number of fantastic elements within this story and what happens to both make it otherworldly and completely believable.

As for the ending, I was not okay. Yoon brings in the prefect twist and resolution that gives the reader enough hope to leave the story with. It took a lot of tears and French fries to reach a coherent state, which is something I appreciate. I love when books can make me react like this, can attach me to the characters and engage me in their lives so much that I have physical reactions to what’s happening. Yoon has a powerful, enrapturing writing style, and an uncanny ability for character crafting. Part of what made this story so much more dynamic to me than Everything, Everything was the inclusion of the main characters separate cultures, including her little fact breaks within the story to add more context to the backgrounds and meanings. When reading one of Yoon’s stories it is easy to be pulled into the cultures she’s presenting, seeing them in full color.

As far as recommendations go, The Sun is Also a Star soared into a five-star rating and my All Time Faves Goodreads shelf. It will defiantly become one I recommend again and again. It’s one that I’ll probably reread and fall in love with all over again in a year or so, and honestly, I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

