Book Tags

The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

So Jess from The Mud and Stars Book Blog mentioned how much she enjoyed watching and reading this tag and then did a post on it herself. As someone who never seems to align with the reading majority, I feel this tag and decided to do one myself! If you want to check out Jess’ you totally should! (And the rest of her blog for that matter) So here we go, my unpopular, uncalled for opinions:

A popular book or series you didn’t like:

16096824

Anyone who read my review knows how much I hated reading this book. The writing was convoluted and flowery (purple prose is a real menace), the characters were annoying, flat, and ridiculous, and the love e story was terrible, unrealistic, and almost abusive. Any interest I might of had with this novel was shot in the face during the first 100 pages. I’ve marked the rest of this series as something to read when I want to be mad and write some long ass review about how angry I am.

A book series everyone hates but you love:

f57529c3f6a452e029d1805845adcb50

I’ll be the first to tell you how much I don’t like the British and American canon and the majority of “classic” novels, but Jane Eyre managed to impress and stick with me. Most of my classmates are on polar opposites when it comes to liking or loathing this book, but I am firmly on the side of liking/loving it.

An OTP you don’t like:

katniss-everdeen-peeta-mellark-star-crossed-lovers-the-boy-with-bread-the-girl-on-fire-Favim.com-340537

Honestly I didn’t want Katniss to end up with anyone, but I could never get behind her and Peeta particularly. It felt like such a convenient, settling for what you got relationship, which I’m not about at all. Plus Peeta mostly just got on my nerves, and was barely a part of the narrative anyways. Katniss didn’t need a bf ya’ll. She needed a good therapist and her cat.

A popular genre you never reach for:

what-is-high-fantasy

This is a genre I can never stay into. Sure I’ll read a book or two every so often that technically qualifies as high fantasy, but for the most part I skip over these in reading lists and at the library. Maybe it has something to do with the fact that the entirety of the genre seems to be focused on Eurocentric mythologies and inspirations while simultaneously praising the white warrior, the pale skinned elves as the pinnacle of beauty, and having dark skinned orcs/dwarves/invaders/heathens/dark elves  as the continual bad guys that must be defeated in order to protect our homeland. Maybe.

A popular character you do not like:

harry-potter-philosophers-stone

Don’t take this the wrong way, I love the Harry Potter series with all of my heart, it was a vital part of my childhood that I will always cherish. That being said Harry is one of the whinniest most annoying protagonists I’ve read. He’s so unreliable and stupid that I get easily frustrated reading him. Not my fave in the series.

A popular author you can’t seem to get into:

fkEHCsm

Maybe it was one bad experience, but I’ve read blurbs and reviews for all of her books trying to scope out weather or not they’d interest me. Honestly, her characters all sound like (and from what I’ve read are) the trademark “I can swing a sword so I’m an empowered woman even though men drive my story and this is really just a love story where I shoot things”. I’m all for complex characters, and men are a part of life so they have a place in a story, but there is a lot missing from Mass’ work and I’m not here for it.

A popular troupe you’re tired of seeing:

cute-exo-exo-m-funny-Favim.com-2923919

The stupid “chosen one. This is directly targeted at Harry Potter and Eragon. Why is it that protagonists always seem to be the biggest idiots in a story,  but they’re still inherently good and are obviously the one’s who are going to save the world. I don’t feel safe knowing that these people are the ones my life is in the hands of.

A popular series you have no interest in reading:

the-mortal-instruments1

I read City of Bones, and was so unimpressed that I immediately ignored every other book in this series. Honestly I was surprised that these books got as popular as they did because I found the first one to be wholly unoriginal, badly written, and with shitty characters to boot. Another love triangle, one of whom is possibly your half brother? I’m exhausted just thinking about it.

A movie or tv series you like better than the book:

 

 

I don’t watch a lot of tv for various reasons. As far as movies go I find myself enjoying the film version of Coraline so much more than the written version. The aesthetics and drama play out so much better for me in Henry Selick’s rendition. Fight me on this tbh.
What are some of your unpopular book opinions? Do you agree or disagree with any of my choices? Comment below and let’s get talking!

7 thoughts on “The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag”

  1. Agree with you on Sarah J. Maas. I finally forced my way through ACOTAR and thought the latter half wasn’t terrible. But the further and further I get into A Court of Mist and Fury, the less I like it. Not my cup of tea.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never read anything by Maas, although when I worked at Books-a-Million I know I sold a lot of them to the starry-eyed-romantic teen girls. Maybe that’s what she’s going for?

    As far as the “City Of” series, I think her prequel-ish series, the Clockwork series (Clockwork Angel, Clockwork Prince, Clockwork Princess) is much better. I find the story to be a bit more entertaining, at least. I got bored with the City books after the fourth one, because it just became “I want to bang this guy but he might be my brother but that’s okay because I’m gonna bang him anyway.” Eurgh.

    High Fantasy is one of my favorite genres, as long as it’s done right. There have been several that I’ve read that have done it very, very wrong. *I’m looking at you, Eragon.*

    It might be a thing with Neil Gaiman books. I found “Stardust” to be a better movie than it was a book. (Plus, Robert DeNiro in a tutu.)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m glad you did the tag too – loved reading your answers. I completely agree with you about Katniss just needing a good therapist and her cat haha. I think the series would have been stronger if she’d picked nobody. She had enough going on! Also, I really need to check out the film adaptation of Coraline. I’ve read the book, and I liked it, but wasn’t overly wowed. I think it would make a fantastic movie though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

