Book Tags

The Your Favorite Music Tag: Books and Music -> a perfect combination

This tag was created by Debbie from Debbie’s Library and as much as I seem to avoid book tags on my blog I thought this one was pretty cool! While I wasn’t tagged I did see that Lia from Lost in a Story (which is who I got the Down the TBR Hole tag from) did a post for it, so I thought I’d play the copy cat and do one too. So check out my music and book selections below:

The Rules

  • Tag the creator of this tag and the one who tagged you
  • Pick 5 songs (or more) that you just have to listen whenever they are played
  • Pick the books/characters you think fit that song the best, and explain why you pick this book/character for this song
  • Tag some friends!

 

The Books:

 

 

The Music:

Pizza by Oohyo

Mom and Dad out for a movie
I’m stuck at home watching re-runs
Don’t really feel out going out in the city
Or on the Net where everyone’s tryin’ to look pretty
Cause I ain’t got no time to impress
To try and live up to anyone’s stupid interest
See I ain’t got no time to look back
To wonder how it might have been if I had tried

If anything would ever remind me of the fluffy lovesick feelings Anna and the French Kiss gave me, it would be this song. I feel like it perfectly suits Anna’s feelings through the novel, as well as the fallout you feel afterwards. (The link to this song and the others will be in the names, so just click them!)

El Dorado (Korean Ver.) by EXO

I’m going toward
The place I have to go
I can’t confirm anything
I can’t promise anything but

Find the El Dorado
I’m leaving right now
The bigger the adventure
The more danger that follows

While the lyrics above are from a translation (very little of this song is actually in English) the overall feeling and sound behind this song brings to mind the expansive West and daring adventures found in Under a Painted Sky. It’s defiantly a song that keeps you hoping for the next chapter, and adventure, that’s coming your way.

Dead Girl Walking (from Heathers: The Musical) by Laurence O’Keefe and Kevin Murphy

And you know, you know, you know
It’s ’cause you’re beautiful
You say you’re numb inside
But I can’t agree
So the world’s unfair
Keep it locked out there
In here it’s beautiful
Let’s make this beautiful!

The angst and drama in Heathers matches really well with We Were Liars. There’s so much teen on teen pain, love, and destruction that it’s weirdly fascinating and a little disturbing to watch. Veronica from Heathers reminds me a lot of Cadence, and their stories are both embroiled in bloodshed and drama to the very end.

Green Tea by Awkwafina x Margret Cho

Flip a stereotype
How an Asian bitch got concubines?
Turn a grown man to a bashful bride
With a vag that will leave him immobilized
But ‘fina wasn’t born with the gas
As a matter of fact, I was born with a rash
As a matter of fact, got a concave ass
Still the hoes line up like a paragraph

It may be because Awkwafina has been cast in the upcoming movie adaptation, but this song brings to mind Crazy Rich Asians and all the interplay at work there. Despite focusing on a family, the novel features some wild and in-control Asian women, which is refreshing to see on page. So this one, with it’s powerful female rapping and focus goes with it.

Eung Freestyle ft. LIVE, SIK-K, Punchello, Owen Ovasoz, Flowsik

I’ma let you finish but
Take your mic, Taylor Swift
Haaaaan, Kanye 처럼
I’ve been dreaming perfect
All my shit be fumin’
Touring cities in the future
Call that Metro Boomin

I never thought that a song could make me think of Yu Hua’s Brothers, yet here we are. This book has brothers pitted against each other in ways they do and do not expect, with success coming easily to one in some cases to the expense of the other. But nothing’s going o stop him anyways.

 

I Tag…

The only person I can think of who would do this and it not be awkward for me to tag them is Lauren over at Books Are Only the Beginning (check her out for more book posts and recipes). So if you see this post and want to jump it, go ahead and do it!

Leave a Reply

